For the Rest of My Life


Rembrandt's Philosopher in Meditation (detail).

Rembrandt's Philosopher in Meditation (detail).

Meditation is something that I’ve been interested in for a while. It makes life and people in my life easier to deal with. Let me be clear, it’s not that they’re acting differently towards me, I just don’t care so much about their opinion of me so naturally I don’t stress out by trying to please them when I know no matter how hard I’d try, I wouldn’t be able to. Reading the assigned books helped me realize that all people are hypocrites and most don’t know who the heck they are. These aren’t new concepts, when I read the 25 days book it’s like a look inside my own mind.

Everything that the book has said so far, I already know, consider, and act upon. But it’s still fun to think about for me because it makes me feel better about myself. If you haven’t noticed, I’ve got a problem with pride. I think I’m pretty awesome. And if you know me at all, you’ll know that what I mean by that isn’t that I think I’m better, I just don’t dislike who I am in the least. So don’t get so offended.

If I love anything in life though, it’s other people. I get no higher pleasure from things than when I am helping someone or doing something for a group of people. I don’t think that I can do anything/everything; I just know that I am good at a lot of things and I like learning new things to be good at to boot. Meditation has helped nearly every aspect of my life slow down a bit.

It gives me a time each day to think of myself, and the world that I live in, and what I am doing in it. It allows me to think more clearly throughout the day. Meditation can be a challenge but it has gotten much easier. Instead of keeping myself entirely open to everyone and everything, I’ve learned to control that part of myself. I’m open-minded as ever, I just don’t trust everyone at the drop of a hat.

Meditation has allowed me to become more decisive about any action that I take. I find that I’m making more time for the things that I used to do just for the heck of it. It has been so long since I’ve been able to actually enjoy any task. I forgot what it was like to be whimsical. These are the reasons that justify my need to keep mediating for the rest of my life.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

