Ice Cream and Meditation


Strawberry ice cream in a cone.

Strawberry ice cream in a cone.

I work at House of Flavors as a server and a conie (people who scoop ice cream… in case you aren’t down with the lingo) and sometimes, things can get a little hectic. Food is getting cold, glasses are empty, orders need to be taken, and tables must be cleaned for the customers waiting, oh, so patiently at the door. All of this is happening at the same time and somehow it needs to get sorted out and taken care of. Meditation has helped me develop my ability to keep track of everything that is going on and keep myself focused and calm. I have become much better at slowing myself down despite what is happening around me so that I can take care of all the tasks I need to finish without getting flustered and falling apart.

My response to certain stimuli has changed as well. I make waffle cones–and if you have never had the pleasure of doing this, it involves taking a burning hot waffle out of an iron (yes, with your hands) and rolling it around a small wooden cone. It hurts. Or, it did anyway, until recently when I had a two minute conversation with a fellow employee before realizing I had been holding a steaming hot waffle the entire time. I was so focused on the conversation, it hadn’t even occurred to me that my fingers were probably being burned.

I don’t get bored as quickly either. This past Sunday I had a seven hour shift and very little to do. Generally 7 hours of cleaning would bother me because I feel that, when I am at work, I should constantly be serving customers. Rather than becoming bored and frustrated, however, I was able to keep myself busy and content throughout the entire shift.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

