Cursive


Writing in cursive has messed with me a little. it tugs me in different directions constantly. Cursive has helped me, yes. I’ve written a lot of lines for my acting class to memorize them and I noticed that I am able to commit them to memory much more quickly when I write them in cursive. They are more connected in my mind and the flow is clear. On the other hand, it makes me feel more pressured to write very well. I have a decent fountain pen, nice paper, and my cursive actually looks pretty good. This all sounds great…  until I actually try to start writing. Because it all seems so formal, I feel like my writing needs to live up to a new standard (and my standards are already too high for my own writing). Cursive has become both a useful tool and a hindrance to me.

This entry was posted in Handwriting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

