Perfectionism and Procrastination = Messy Glass Cook Top


Perfectionism and procrastination can get in the way of accomplishing alot of things including cleaning a messy glass cook top. This is a task that I do not like to do. When we chose this type of cook top I thought the glass would be easy to clean – wipe off and shine it with Windex. Nope, too easy. It takes four or five different steps with 4 cleansers to clean it and when you think you are done there is still burnt food left on it that will not come off.  So, needless to say, this bothers the perfectionist side of me and causes me to procrastinate in cleaning it after I use it. My perfectionism and procrastination has led  me to years of wasting time in getting things done. When I think about this it saddens me. I put such pressure on myself and my family because I didn’t do the activities or projects that were necessary in a timely manner. For example, relatives are coming over for a holiday dinner and I am behind on cleaning, decorating, cooking, etc. and now I expect my family to help get everything done before everyone arrives. Not only do I expect everyone to help but I want them to do the tasks the way I want them done! This brings up control – that’s another blog.

It really hurts to realize that I put my efforts toward perfect cleaning instead of developing and nuturing relationships especially with my children. If I could go back to when they were very young I would do things so differently. But I can’t – so I need to forgive myself and let go of these feelings that have beat me up for so many years. I need to change these habits so I don’t waste anymore time in living the life that God has blessed me with. I know changing these habits won’t be easy but I think now at 54 years of age I’m ready to tackle it!

 

Perfectionism and procrastination can get in the way of accomplishing alot of things including cleaning a messy glass cook top. This is a task that I do not like to do. When we chose this type of cook top I thought the glass would be easy to clean – wipe off and shine it with Windex. Nope, too easy. It takes four or five different steps with 4 cleansers to clean it and when you think you are done there is still burnt food left on it that will not come off.  So, needless to say, this bothers the perfectionist side of me and causes me to procrastinate in cleaning it after I use it. My perfectionism and procrastination has led  me to years of wasting time in getting things done. When I think about this it saddens me. I put such pressure on myself and my family because I didn’t do the activities or projects that were necessary in a timely manner. For example, relatives are coming over for a holiday dinner and I am behind on cleaning, decorating, cooking, etc. and now I expect my family to help get everything done before everyone arrives. Not only do I expect everyone to help but I want them to do the tasks the way I want them done! This brings up control – that’s another blog.

It really hurts to realize that I put my efforts toward perfect cleaning instead of developing and nuturing relationships especially with my children. If I could go back to when they were very young I would do things so differently. But I can’t – so I need to forgive myself and let go of these feelings that have beat me up for so many years. I need to change these habits so I don’t waste anymore time in living the life that God has blessed me with. I know changing these habits won’t be easy but I think now at 54 years of age I’m ready to tackle it!

 
This entry was posted in Art Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

