Effects on me


My first meditation on the floor was not at all what I thought it would be. I had no idea that there was so much technique involved. Originally, I thought meditation was simply sitting cross-legged on the floor with your palms up, thumb and finger pinched together, eyes closed, and mind wandering in no direction. Boy, was I wrong! Sitting on the zafu pillow with my pelvis tilted forward, back slightly arched, hands pulled into my stomach I was not at all comfortable. I have spend, literally, years trying to perfect my posture: stomach sucked up, shoulders back, head pulled up.  Meditation seemed to require the exact opposite suggestions. During the “counting the breathes” technique my back was killing me. It was hard to focus after a while. Towards the end of the session, I was thinking how “old” I felt being damn near 30, but probably older than most in the class. Someday I hope the aches and pains will go away so I can concentrate on not concentrating…

About htaibl1

Bachelor student at West Shore Community College.
This entry was posted in Meditation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

