A flavorful nightmare


My experience with eating mindfully was not as I had expected.  My suspicion was that I would enjoy eating slow for a change and savor the food that I had prepared for class.  I made a ham and cheese sandwich, with no condiments, on 100% whole wheat bread.  Just the way I like it.  I packed a string cheese, an apple, a bottle of water, and a handful of trail mix consisting of mixed peanuts, dried cranberries, and chocolate, white chocolate, peanut butter, and butterscotch chips.   On a normal day, I would have loved to devour this whole meal.

As the mindful practice began, I grabbed my sandwich with two hands and presented it to my nose to be tested.  I was surprised with what I discovered.  Having never really smelled a sandwich before, I was put off.  My senses were upset, but I mindfully bit off a small section of the sandwich and rolled it around in my mouth.  Immediately my mouth became dry and the taste engulfed my senses.  As quickly as I put the sandwich in my mouth, I wanted to spit it out.  But, as the practice says, we must try everything once.  Each chew was worse than the first.  The foul taste filled my mouth.  The over-processed ham was the worst!  The bits of fat were haunting my every bite.  And was that really American cheese? I think not now!  The thin yellowish blob of slime took on a different form.   Only a couple bites into it and I had resented my “plain” sandwich now.

I had never experienced this type of disappointment with my food before.  Something that was once tasteful to me was revealed in its true form.  Disgusting, over-processed foods.  I had suddenly realized that after 30 years of eating, I never fully knew what I had been putting in my body.

About htaibl1

Bachelor student at West Shore Community College.
This entry was posted in Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

