Walking in a Winter Wonderland


I woke up to find snow this morning. Just enough to make everything look white. I grabbed my coat, threw on some shoes, a hat, and went outside. I stepped out the front door and heard a light crunch as my shoes made an impact with the snow. I love that sound. The air felt crisp cold on my still warm body. My skin prickled as the cold began to seep in. I started my walk, all the while listening to the snow crunch beneath my feet. The sun hadn’t come up yet, so outside still had the hazy look to it. I felt the snow begin to pack up in the grooves of my shoes and create uncomfortable lumps but I didn’t do anything about it. The muscles in the legs worked as I made my way down the sidewalk, I felt a change in the Earth as I stepped onto the hard grass. It was a different hard than the cement. The tips of the grass were just poking up under the snow, and they too made their own crunchy noise as I crushed them under my feet. A couple people on my road had started up their vehicles to warm, I could see the heat melting the snow off their windshields, and the ghostly footprints left in the snow. I heard a dog bark in the distance, not sure which direction it came from, I listened again. It was somewhere to the left of me. I could still feel the snow in the grooves of my shoes, when I watched behind me I could see bits of chunks falling off with each step. My body had finally let all the cold in, I could feel the cold straight to my bones. My nose was numb with cold, along with the tips of my ears. I decided to end my walk and head back in. Before going through the door I kicked my feet against the steps, rattling my legs and giving them a tingly feeling, to get the snow out of my shoes. I felt the snow let go and silently fall to the ground. I opened the front door and was instantly met with a blast of warm air, and I felt a whole new prickly sensation as my skin began to thaw out.

I don’t have as many mindful walks as I should. It really helps you appreciate the Earth more. I love when it snows and I especially love hearing the sound of it crunch beneath my feet. Mindful walking has really heightened that sound for me, among many other thing.

This entry was posted in Meditation, Miscellaneous, Walking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walking in a Winter Wonderland

  1. Pingback: Intimate Snow « Poems That Dance

Leave a Reply

