Cursive Handwriting I Curse You!


Mindfully writing in cursive is a bit more challenging than one might expect, unless however, you have been writing in cursive continuously since the 3rd grade. If so, then I imagine that it was probably not that difficult.  But, if you are like me, and only practice cursive in the occasional birthday card, then you probably found it difficult.  Since my highschool career, I have found that note taking is more successful when I can read my words. So since then, I have adopted to writing in neat print, so that it is leadgable. When the handwriting technique was presented in the mindful living class, I was excited to try out my cursive.  It had been so long that I had actually wrote a full page in cursive.  To my surprise, I found it quite distressing and nerve-wrecking at the same time.  I like my cursive handwriting, but I found that my printed letters wanted to flow easier from my pen and mind, than my cursive letters.  Trying to sit at home to copy Yin and Yang was extremely difficult. I prepared myself for a quiet morning (as not to be disturbed by my children), and tried copy after copy.  I could not completely finish the poem without making mistakes.  I tried repeatedly, as to perfect the poem, but I failed.  Each time a word came up that I knew I would have a hard time with, I took a deep breath and visualized what that word would look like coming out of my pen, but most of the time I failed.  Crazy swoops and figures emerged instead.  Maybe I put too much pressure on my perfection, or what my handwriting looked like, but I simply could not do it.

About htaibl1

Bachelor student at West Shore Community College.
This entry was posted in Handwriting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cursive Handwriting I Curse You!

  1. Pingback: Cursive or Cursing Writing | EduDad

Leave a Reply

