Educational Experience


My educational link to mindful living can be described as encouraging.  One night I was sitting at home trying to read one of my text books.  The information was dry and boring.  I found myself running over the words, moving through the paragraphs, but nothing was actually sinking into my brain.  A few times I read paragraphs repeatedly, but then realized that I was not really reading the meanings or letting it sink into my brain.  I was wasting precious time.  I had a lot on my mind.  I was thinking about how I had so much stuff to do, but I had convinced myself that I had to do my homework first.  After frustration set in I decided to take a short break.  I sat in a quiet area in my house and performed a 10 minute meditation exercise practicing shecontaza.  Through that meditation practice, I was able to let go of all of my anxiety.  I convinced myself that I could get to all the things I needed to do, if I got through the homework first. And it was possible to get it all done like I wanted to.  I immediately picked up my book and started to read the chapter again.  This time, I did not have wandering thoughts in my head.  I was able to read the words, and really read them.  I was no longer looking at the words with my eyes and not my mind.  I was connecting them together.  My mind was focused on the information my eyes were feeding it.  This was a very momentous occasion for me, because I take my schooling very serious and try hard to get good grades while really retaining the information.

About htaibl1

Bachelor student at West Shore Community College.
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

